Tracking #2: Bass

After drums, the next thing we tracked was Bass Guitar.

I used the same setup described in my previous post “And then Began the Tracking: Drums” in terms of interface and software, and I had the same options in terms of mics.

The first thing that I reach for when I track bass is always a DI Box. I know that if I have the clean DI signal then I can experiment with mic placement and amp choice, because if the worst comes to the worst, then I can always re-amp. With that being said, here is how I mic’ed up the bass amp on this occasion.

First I used the Audix D6 in front of the cone, around 6cm back from the grill. The goal with this mic was to capture a nice full low end from the amp that may be lacking in the DI signal.

Next, I placed a Shure SM57 in front of the cone next to the D6. This was very much an experiment since I had the mic right there. Unfortunately, it didn’t sound particularly great, and after trying three different positions I just left it where it was and didn’t end up using it in the mix.

The last mic that I used was my Røde NT2000 large diaphragm condenser, I think it was in Cardioid (mostly because that’s what it was in from drums and no other particular reason). I placed this quite far back from the amp (about 1.5m) to get just a little hint of room in the bass sound. This also had the added effect of picking up the sound of the bass player playing in the room, which I thought was kind of interesting.

When it came to performance the bass player, Liam, did a fairly good job. For the most part, he knew his parts and played in time. There was just one thing that happened which I want to make a point of, because I think it’s a lesson well learned. There was one part in the one song where the band had changed one of the chords in the week leading up to recording day. Liam didn’t remember this when we were tracking, and I didn’t know about it. When we came to record guitars the guitarist spotted the issue and I had to do some on the fly editing to get the parts right to continue tracking guitar. The lesson I learned from this is to always have the guitarist at least somewhat present in the bass session, especially if you get the feeling that the bass player might be missing something important.

Thanks for taking the time to follow this series.

If you have any comments, questions, opinions or just want to say hi, then please leave a comment below.

Have a great day!

Rob

Published by

InTheStudioWithRob

I am a sound student currently in the third year of my sound degree at the SAE Institute Cape Town, South Africa. I also have a home studio called Lauda Sound. I am passionate about both Music and Audio Post-Production, and I hope to bring a good mix of them to you guys. I hope you stick around for the fun and get in touch! Have a great sounding day!

Leave a Reply

